Agenda and minutes

Administration Committee - Thursday, 11 November 2021 6:15 pm, MOVED

Venue: Ageas Suite, Ageas Bowl, Botley Road, Southampton, SO30 3RS

Contact: Catherine Collins, Democratic Services Officer, Email: 

No. Item


Minutes pdf icon PDF 118 KB

To consider the Minutes of the meeting held on 13 September 2021.




That the Minutes of the meeting held on 13 September 2021 be confirmed and signed by the Chair as a correct record.


Public Participation

Public seating will be limited at this meeting due to the current Covid-19 pandemic. You can submit questions in advance of the meeting to the following email: The deadline for submissions is midday on Wednesday 10 November 2021. Please let us know if you wish to attend the meeting in person so that we can manage numbers. We encourage those attending to wear a mask and take a test to ensure that they are not at risk of infecting anyone with Covid-19.


There was no public participation on this occasion.


Declarations of Interest

Members are invited to declare interests in relation to items of business on the agenda.  Any interests declared will be recorded in the Minutes.


Councillor Parker Jones declared a non-pecuniary interest as she is a Parish Councillor for Bishopstoke.


Councillor Grajewski declared a non-pecuniary interest as she has relatives in HI3.


Interim Review of Polling Stations and Polling Places 2021 pdf icon PDF 160 KB

Additional documents:


The Senior Elections Officer presented the report.


The Committee was updated that since the interim review, Hampshire County Council had supported the initiative and written to Chief Executives in Hampshire asking them to consider moving away from schools following the interim review.


The Senior Elections Officer confirmed that locations would be kept under review.


Councillor Grajewski requested that changes be publicised in Borough News so that people were aware of the change to locations.




That the Committee :


(1)  Noted the findings of the interim polling review, and the Committee’s thanks to respondents was recorded;

(2)  Moved the polling station in Chandler’s Ford for CH3, which was currently at Toynbee School, to Chandler’s Ford Parish Offices, Fryern Hill Pavilion, Greenways, Chandler’s Ford;

(3)  Moved the Eastleigh North polling districts EN2 and EN3, who currently voted at Crestwood Community School, to St Peter’s Church, Shakespeare Road, Eastleigh;

(4)  Moved the polling station EN5 in Eastleigh North to The Café at Eastleigh House, Upper Market Street, Eastleigh to cease use of Shakespeare Junior School;

(5)  Moved the Hiltingbury polling station for HI3, which currently voted at Scantabout Primary School, to Chandler’s Ford Library, Oakmount Road, Chandler’s Ford;

(6)  Noted the relocation of two additional polling stations where venues had become unavailable.

(7)  All other polling stations and places remained unchanged.

(NOTE: Councillor Airey arrived at 18.23, he did not take part in the debate or vote on the item.)